Fantastic Books and Where to Get Them (at a cheaper price or no cost at all)

I love reading books. I used to save part of my college allowance and use it to buy books. Even when I don’t have enough money yet, I still make it a point to browse the shelves of the bookstore. Thankfully, when I moved to Manila, I’ve discovered bookstores and pop-up stores selling books at cheaper prices. (I still look for the new-looking ones though, haha). There are also e-books from the Internet, which you can download for free.

These are the places I go to buy books at cheap prices:

IMG_3473
Book Sale, 2nd Floor Market! Market!, beside Bayad Center
IMG_3476
Chapters & Pages, Ground Floor Market! Market!, inside Gift Market

For light reading or when you just want to pass the time but not really intending to purchase a book, you may go to the Little Free Library at UP Town Center. Be sure to return the books, though. Also, a pop-up library called “The Book Stop” is available for a limited time at the Ayala Triangle, Makati. You may either borrow a book and return it after or get a book and leave another book in exchange.

IMG_3400
Little Free Library, UP Town Center

As I have grown older, the kind of books I read may have changed, but the feeling it gives me still remains the same. Reading lets me travel to places where only my imagination can take me and inspires me to dream more.

These are the books I’ve read recently, you might enjoy reading them too.

FICTION

1. Neverwhere (by Neil Gaiman). It tells the story of a young businessman who found that there is much more to the world (or the other world) than what he sees. This is an urban fantasy set in London (Above and Below). I enjoyed this book and am eager to read more of Neil Gaiman’s works.

“Richard Mayhew is an unassuming young businessman living in London, with a dull job and a pretty fiancée. Then one night he stumbles across a girl bleeding on a sidewalk. He stops to help her – and the life he knows vanishes like smoke.  Several hours later, the girl is gone too. The following morning, Richard Mayhew has been erased from his world…He has fallen through the cracks of reality and has landed somewhere different, somewhere that is Neverwhere. “

2. Good Omens (by Neil Gaiman).

“According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, the world’s completely accurate book of prophecies…, the world will end on a Saturday, next Saturday in fact. Just before dinner. So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing…Everything appears to be according to Divine Plan. But a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon – both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle – are not looking forward to the comping Rapture.”

It’s a story of the forces of Heaven and Hell, and I think the influences of both nature and nurture.

Personally, I enjoyed Neverwhere more than Good Omens as I found the latter very fictional and had so many characters, some of which were difficult to remember.

3. The Lady of the Rivers (by Philippa Gregory, author of The Other Boleyn Girl).

Dubbed as the Queen of English Historical Fiction (according to a review by Publishers Weekly), Philippa Gregory tells the story of the Cousins’ War through the eyes of Jacquetta, dowager duchess of Bedford and mother of Elizabeth Woodville, who became Queen Consort of England, wife of King Edward IV.

I enjoyed reading the book, especially on the first part as it has hints of magic, witchcraft, alchemy. I’m looking forward to read “The White Queen” or “The Red Queen” next as reviews in Good Reads say these books are better than The Lady of the Rivers.

INSPIRATIONAL

The following books were freebies I got from my membership at The Truly Rich Club

I finished reading them all in a day  as I just can’t stop. Bo Sanchez sure knows how to keep readers asking for more. The titles already speak for themselves so I guess I don’t need to elaborate.

I’m sure you can also read these books in a day. You’ll get so hooked that you couldn’t put the book or the gadget (for e-books) down.

SELFHELP

I got both books from the Internet  by just typing the title + pdf.

8. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People  by Stephen R. Covey

These book contains various valuable life lessons that can definitely improve your relationships with people not just at work but in all areas of life.

9. The Power of Habit (by Charles Duhigg)

I enjoyed this book as it contained various examples, mostly based on research and real-life experiences of people not just in business but in other fields as well.

CLASSIC

10. To Kill a Mockingbird (by Harper Lee)

I almost forgot that this was on my Goodreads list, but better late than never. I love how the book is able to relay social issues in a simple way, through the eyes of a child.

There are still books on my “To Read” list, I hope I can read them all. Let me know your recommendations as well. Happy reading!📚

*enclosed in quotation marks were the synopses found at the back of the book. Images of book covers were taken from the Internet.

Leave a Reply

